• Make fonts size smaller
  • Make fonts size larger
  • Make fonts size double larger

Association of Graduate Earth Sciences Students (AGESS)

Association of Graduate Earth Sciences Students (AGESS)

The main objective of AGESS is to support the graduate student body and represent its interests within higher levels of the Department and the University. All Earth Sciences graduate students are members of AGESS, which is headed by an executive committee traditionally consisting of a President, Social Chair, Treasurer, and RockFest Chair; other positions may be created should a need be recognized. AGESS elects executives each spring for the following academic year.

In addition to providing academic and personal support, AGESS also coordinates a variety of social engagements throughout the year, including field trips and a semi-formal event at the conclusion of the spring term. AGESS is responsible for organizing RockFest, an event held on Friday afternoons during the fall and winter terms that involves two informal 15-minute presentations by students or faculty. All graduate students are expected to give a Rockfest presentation during their tenure within the Earth Sciences Department. In the summer months, AGESS holds a weekly BBQ on the fourth floor patio in order to raise money for events throughout the year. AGESS also assists in the maintenance of the graduate and faculty lounge on the third floor of the Earth Sciences Department by providing coffee and teas.

Please direct all questions to:  agess@es.utoronto.ca 

AGESS Representatives 2019/2020

EXECUTIVE      
       
Position Name Office Email
President Saif Al-Silwadi 4091 saif.silwadi@mail.utoronto.ca
Vice president Sam Athey 3146 sam.athey@mail.utoronto.ca
Treasurer Sophia Zamaria 4118 sophia.zamaria@mail.utoronto.ca
Faculty liaisons Elizabeth Phillips
Tim Rodgers
3113
3142
elizabeth.phillips@mail.utoronto.ca
tim.rodgers@utoronto.ca
CUPE Stewards Erin Seagren
Megan Swing
4084
2108
e.seagren@mail.utoronto.ca
megan.swing@mail.utoronto.ca
Secretary/General Meeting Chair Tim Rodgers 3142 tim.rodgers@utoronto.ca
Mental Health & Wellness Rep Sophia Zamaria 4118 sophia.zamaria@mail.utoronto.ca
Rockfest Chairs TBA    
Diversity, Inclusion, and Acceptance Coordinator David Aceituno-Caicedo    
Social Chairs Saif Al-Silwadi 4091 saif.silwadi@mail.utoronto.ca
  Julia Andersen 4084 julia.andersen@mail.utoronto.ca