• Make fonts size smaller
  • Make fonts size larger
  • Make fonts size double larger

Association of Graduate Earth Sciences Students (AGESS)

 

Association of Graduate Earth Sciences Students (AGESS)

The main objective of AGESS is to support the graduate student body and represent its interests within higher levels of the Department and the University. All Earth Sciences graduate students are members of AGESS, which is headed by an executive committee traditionally consisting of a President, Social Chair, Treasurer, and RockFest Chair; other positions may be created should a need be recognized. AGESS elects executives each spring for the following academic year.

In addition to providing academic and personal support, AGESS also coordinates a variety of social engagements throughout the year, including field trips and a semi-formal event at the conclusion of the spring term. AGESS is responsible for organizing RockFest, an event held on Friday afternoons during the fall and winter terms that involves two informal 15-minute presentations by students or faculty. All graduate students are expected to give a Rockfest presentation during their tenure within the Earth Sciences Department. In the summer months, AGESS holds a weekly BBQ on the fourth floor patio in order to raise money for events throughout the year. AGESS also assists in the maintenance of the graduate and faculty lounge on the third floor of the Earth Sciences Department by providing coffee and teas.

Please direct all questions to:   agessfile@gmail.com 

AGESS EXECUTIVE REPRESENTATIVES 2021-2022

Position

Name

 

Email

President

Sam Athey

 

sam.athey@mail.utoronto.ca

Vice President

CUPE 3902 Steward

Megan Swing

 

megan.swing@mail.utoronto.ca

Treasurer

Sophia Zamaria

 

sophia.zamaria@mail.utoronto.ca

Secretary

Armagan Kaykun

 

a.kaykun@mail.utoronto.ca

Faculty Liaison

Johnathan Sorrentino

 

johnathan.sorrentino@mail.utoronto.ca

Diversity, Inclusion & Acceptance Coordinator

David Aceituno-Caicedo

 

david.aceituno@mail.utoronto.ca

Social Chair

Julia Anderson

 

julia.anderson@mail.utoronto.ca

Rockfest Chair

Octavio Acuna Avendano

 

octavio.acunaavendano@mail.utoronto.ca

Graduate Mentorship Program Coordinator

Saif Al-Silwadi

 

saif.silwadi@mail.utoronto.ca

Mental Health & Wellness Coordinator

Open Position email sam.athey@mail.utoronto.ca if interested.